The Board

The objective of De Luchtballon is to teach Dutch language and culture to children who are in English schools, have a connection to the Netherlands or Belgium and who speak or understand Dutch. That is why our school is a member of the Stichting Nederlands Onderwijs in het Buitenland:; the NOB is subsidised by the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science in the Netherlands.

The educational inspectorate monitors the quality of education at the schools in its network. Stichting NOB provides support for teachers and board members at the Dutch schools in its network. Our schools follows a school plan that has been approved by the Dutch government inspectorate.

The board of de Luchtballon is responsible for long-term policy, quality assurance, finances and keeping in contact with external bodies, such as Dutch consulates and the NOB.

The board is currently made up of: Anouk Verlaat (chair), Katinka Dijk (treasurer), Emma Smit-Hamilton (secretary), Lieke Spee-Horsu (secretary) and Ajanthan Anthonypillai (DBS).